In the state of Ohio, as well as every other state, every person who owns or drives an automobile is required to carry liability insurance, in the event that they are responsible for an accident. The requirements for the amount of liability insurance drivers must carry vary from state to state. In Ohio, at the present time, the least amount of insurance, or state minimum limits, a driver can carry is $12,500 per person, $25,000 per accident and $750 for any property damage incurred in the accident. This means that if you are responsible for an accident, your insurance company must pay the other party or parties involved in the accident up to $12,500 per person and a maximum amount of $25,000 per accident, and the most it will pay for property damage is $750.00.
The $12,500 / $25,000 amounts have been Ohios state minimum liability insurance limits since the Financial Responsibility Act first went to effect in 1977. Recently, the Ohio State Legislature voted to increase the state minimum liability insurance limits from $12,500 / $25,000 to $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident and $25,000 for damage to another persons property. This change in state minimum liability insurance limits will take effect December 22, 2013.
If you need advice regarding the Financial Responsibility Act and what amount of insurance coverage you should carry, please don’t hesitate to Ohio Injury Law.